Presentation of the ODOI project

I am introducing here the project I am working on. You will find below a brief description of it and a more detailed description on this blog here. If you have any question, do not hesitate I will be more than happy to answer it.

This project aims at creating a robot combining technological skills, agility and artistic design. One of the objectives is to mimic – either by the posture of the mechanical structure and/or by the design - different emotions in order to provoke real ones from the audience.

Regarding the technological skills, everybody is coming up with a basket of features such as face recognition, photo shooting, speech (recognition), storytelling, M2M… According to the size of the robot, embedded CPU resource and usefulness, part or all of these features can be proposed.

In order to address agility, I studied in details the human gait – actually how the whole body contributes to the gait. Based on this study I decided to include an articulated pelvic, an articulated foot and an articulated spine (yes lot of articulated stuff) initially proposed by the Flowers team for their Acroban robot. My thesis is that all these articulated parts will contribute to smooth and increase the fluidity of the gaits (straight walk or make a turn). Now I have to prove it.

I think that Artistic Design is really very important if one want to introduce robots in the human environment that can be accepted and/or tolerated by the population. One step further will be the development of “artistic robots” that can be considered as piece of Art and sold accordingly. So far only the Japanese robotics community is really addressing this topic.